Money on the Left: History, Theory, Practice is a peer-reviewed, open access journal of scholarship in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. The journal places money’s public origins and capacities at the center of left inquiry and action. It cultivates interdisciplinary approaches to past and present, aesthetics and politics. And it advances intersectional forms of research and practice in service of a just transition from social and ecological devastation. 

Money on the Left draws principally from Modern Monetary Theory (MMT) and the constitutional theory of money, but welcomes complementary projects aiming to challenge monetary privacy and privation across socio-historical contexts. The journal invites explicit studies of money as well as investigations into how money indirectly organizes collectivities and environs. Above all, it seeks to displace the austere political and aesthetic forms of neoliberalism with capacious, equitable, and just alternatives. 

ISSN 2833-051X


Scott Ferguson, Associate Professor of Film & Media Studies at the University of South Florida

William Saas, Professor of Practice of Communication at Tulane University

Jakob Feinig, Assistant Professor of Human Development at Binghamton University, State University of New York

Rob Hawkes, Senior Lecturer in English Studies at Teesside University

Benjamin Wilson, Associate Professor of Economics at State University of New York at Cortland 

Production Staff:

Will Beaman, Associate Editor

Thomas Chaplin, Editorial Assistant

Editorial Board:

Vienne Chan, Artist

Crystal Boch Colombini, Assistant Professor of Rhetoric at Fordham University

Sandy Darity, Samuel DuBois Cook Distinguished Professor of Public Policy at Duke University

Jakob Feinig, Assistant Professor of Human Development at Binghamton University

Mathew Forstater, Professor of Economics at University of Missouri-Kansas City

David Freund, Associate Professor of History at University of Maryland, College Park

Rohan Grey, Assistant Professor of Law at Willamette University and President of the Modern Money Network (MMN)

John Haskell, Senior Lecturer in Law at University of Manchester

Colleen Hooper, Assistant Professor of Dance at Park Point University

Fadhel Kaboub, Associate Professor of Economics at Denison University

Michael LeVan, Founding editor and Editor-in-Chief of Liminalities: A Journal of Performance Studies

Martha McCluskey, Professor of Law at University of Buffalo

Julie Mell, Associate Professor of History at North Carolina State University

Jamee K. Moudud, Professor of Economics at Sarah Lawrence College

Frank Pasquale, Professor of Law at Brooklyn Law School

Jesús Reséndiz, Economist

Erica Robles-Anderson, Associate Professor of Media Studies at New York University

David Stein, Assistant Professor of History at University of California, Santa Barbara

Ndongo Sylla, Development Economist at the Rosa Luxemburg Foundation

Pavlina Tcherneva, Associate Professor of Economics at Bard College

Benjamin Wilson, Associate Professor of Economics at SUNY Cortland

Lua Kamal Yuille, Professor of Law at the University of Kansas


Money on the Left is a monthly, interdisciplinary podcast hosted by Ferguson and Saas that reclaims money’s public powers for imaginative intersectional politics.

Hosting critical conversations with leading historians, theorists, organizers, and activists, the show develops insights from Modern Monetary Theory and constitutional approaches to money to advance new forms of left thinking and practice.

Money on the Left is hosted by William Saas and Scott Ferguson and presented in partnership with Monthly Review magazine.

Production Staff:

William Saas and Scott Ferguson, Editors and Producers

Robert Rusch, Graphic Art (Since November 2023)

Emily Reynolds of The Buffalo Institute for Contemporary Art, Graphic Art (January 2022 – October 2023)

Meghan Saas, Graphic Art (Until December 2022)

Mike Lewis, Transcriber (January 2023 – Present)

Mercedes Ohlen, Transcriber (April – December 2022)

Richard Farrell, Transcriber (Until March 2021)

Thomas Chaplin, Editorial Assistant

Superstructure is a left MMT podcast & publishing vertical for critical theory, media culture & aesthetics that are committed to unconditional inclusion and intersectional politics.

Production Staff:

Will Beaman, Editor and Producer

Natalie Tabb Smith, Associate Editor

Tommy Craggs, Associate Editor

Thomas Chaplin, Associate Editor

William Saas, Scott Ferguson, Contributing Editors

Medium Femme is a left MMT podcast that explores femme knowings and publics, which are typically repressed by conventional critical political economy and socialist politics.